Tarot Card Meanings

The Tarot Deck

The Tarot deck is a powerful tool used for divination, personal growth, and spiritual exploration. The deck consists of 78 cards, each of which has its own unique symbolism and meaning. The Tarot is split into two main arcana, the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana.

The Major Arcana consists of 22 cards that represent significant life events, spiritual growth, and archetypal energies. These cards are often seen as the “big picture” or overarching themes of a reading.

The Minor Arcana, on the other hand, consists of 56 cards that represent the day-to-day aspects of life, such as relationships, work, and personal growth. Each suit of the Minor Arcana corresponds to a different element and aspect of life, providing a detailed look at specific areas of our lives.

The Major Arcana

Jump to Minor Arcana

The Major Arcana cards in tarot are some of the most powerful and meaningful symbols in the deck. Totaling 22 cards, the Major Arcana cards represent the most significant events and archetypes in our lives. These cards date back to the 15th century and were originally used as a game in Italy. It wasn’t until the late 18th century that tarot began to be used for divination and spiritual purposes.

Each Major Arcana card has its own unique symbolism and meaning. These cards can help us understand the larger themes and patterns at play and offer guidance on how to navigate these energies.

The Minor Arcana

Jump to Major Arcana

The minor arcana cards in the Tarot deck represent the more mundane, day-to-day aspects of life, as opposed to the major arcana cards which deal with major life events and spiritual themes. The minor arcana is divided into four suits, each of which corresponds to a different element and aspect of life.

The Wands suit represents the element of fire and is associated with creativity, passion, and inspiration. The Cups suit represents the element of water and is associated with emotions, relationships, and intuition. The Swords suit represents the element of air and is associated with the mind, communication, and decision-making. The Pentacles suit represents the element of earth and is associated with material possessions, finances, and the physical world.

Each suit consists of numbered cards from Ace to Ten, as well as four court cards: Page, Knight, Queen, and King. These court cards represent different aspects of the human experience and can be interpreted in a variety of ways, depending on the specific Tarot reader and the context of the reading.

Choose a suit